Yes friends, assuming the TSA let me through security with my big bag of snacks, as this post goes to press we are in the Cinque Terre, our first stop en route to Tuscany. Remember two weeks ago when I cryptically mentioned that I have a few Big Exciting Things in the works? This trip is one of them! I hope we are enjoying an ocean view, full glasses of wine, and a meal like these white bean toasts with garlic and tomato. I hate to call this recipe easy, because that makes it not seem special. Here’s the thing though: it is easy. And it is special.

Why I Love These Tuscan White Bean Toasts

For me, these Tuscan-inspired toasts exemplify what I most adore about Italian cooking: straightforward, uncomplicated, and beautiful ingredients uniting to become greater than their individual parts. (I feel the same way about this Italian Tuna Salad.) Fruity olive oil. Juicy tomatoes. Creamy cannellini beans. Thickly sliced, fluffy, crusty bread. What more could I ask for? The topping for these smashed white bean toasts is a twist on Tuscan white bean ragout, which typically takes several hours to cook. I cut that time down to 20-ish minutes by using canned cannellini beans in place of dry. I have no regrets. The beans are still delightfully creamy. When combined with the olive oil, garlic, and the caramelized juices from the burst cherry tomatoes, they transform into the kind of meal that you almost never get around to sitting down to eat because you fill up munching it right from the pan. Do try to save some of white bean topping for the toast though because BREAD. Take a lesson from the Italians and don’t skimp here. Treat yourself to a good quality artisan loaf, slice it thickly, and savor every bite.

Recipe Adaptations

To Make Dairy Free and Vegan. Omit the Parmesan or swap it for the same amount of nutritional yeast.To Make Gluten Free. Make sure you’re using a gluten free bread.

How to Store Tuscan White Bean Toasts

To Store. Once topped, these toasts are best enjoyed right away. The bean and tomato mixture, however, can be stored on its own in the refrigerator for up to 4 days. To Reheat. Rewarm leftover topping on the stove over medium-low heat or gently in the microwave. Toast and top the bread just before serving.

I’ll be doing my best to keep my laptop away during our trip, but you can follow along with our adventures on Instagram, especially my stories. Buon appetito!

Tuscan White Bean Toasts  Simple and Delicious     WellPlated com - 63Tuscan White Bean Toasts  Simple and Delicious     WellPlated com - 34Tuscan White Bean Toasts  Simple and Delicious     WellPlated com - 35Tuscan White Bean Toasts  Simple and Delicious     WellPlated com - 67Tuscan White Bean Toasts  Simple and Delicious     WellPlated com - 50Tuscan White Bean Toasts  Simple and Delicious     WellPlated com - 20Tuscan White Bean Toasts  Simple and Delicious     WellPlated com - 46