I’m so glad chili season is upon us!

For this chili, I used both the ROTEL chunky diced tomatoes with green chilies and the Hunt’s crushed tomatoes that I purchased at my local Walmart. ROTEL has a mild variety of that same product, so if you’re not into spicy food, just get that instead. I like using canned tomatoes because they make my life so much easier! I’m already so stressed with everything else, at least dinner making needs to be semi- therapeutic, right? I also chose to use black eyed peas because I’m kinda obsessed with them. They are my mom’s favorite, but I avoided them during my whole childhood. When I finally tried them, I was hooked! Now, I always have a couple of cans in my pantry to use in salads, stews and chili. I honestly think they paired perfectly with the sweet potatoes!

If you know me, you are probably really surprised that I didn’t add any protein to this chili. I got so inspired by all the pretty bright colors in the chili, with all the veggies, that I really didn’t think to add any meat. However, if you still think you need your protein fix, I think ground turkey would go great with all these flavors! Meat or no meat, this chili is amazing, healthy and is perfect for those cold nights when all you are craving is a bowl of comfort food. Don’t forget to add a lot of toppings. My favorites are sour cream and a lot of shredded cheddar cheese! ?  

Sweet Potato Chili - 56Sweet Potato Chili - 74Sweet Potato Chili - 52Sweet Potato Chili - 4Sweet Potato Chili - 2Sweet Potato Chili - 84Sweet Potato Chili - 81Sweet Potato Chili - 46Sweet Potato Chili - 78Sweet Potato Chili - 1