My most recent cooking-themed conversation was with my hairstylist. Mid-cut, she asked if I ever found myself cooking the same thing over and over again. (Apparently she was having an interlude with all things sesame/ginger and was curious if I’d gone through similar phases.) Guess which recipe I couldn’t wait to tell her about… SOY GINGER SALMON!

Salmon is my answer whenever anyone asks about my go-to weeknight meals. (This extensive list of healthy salmon recipes on my site is proof.)I realize that describing salmon recipes (like Honey Glazed Salmon) as my go-to dinner sounds a bit pinkies-up, but I promise the only thing fancy about this salmon recipe is how accomplished you’ll feel after you make it.Salmon is healthy and versatile, and the fact that I spent the majority of my adult life being terrified to cook a piece of fish yet managed to nail baked salmon on my first attempt should tell you that anyone (and I mean anyone) can cook this Soy Ginger Salmon recipe with success!

Soy Ginger Salmon—An Easy Recipe Everyone Loves (and Anyone Can Make!)

Aside from the few of my mother’s unsuccessful attempts to persuade us to eat tuna noodle casserole or fish sticks, we ate very little fish growing up. Even if you had told me as recently as two years ago that I’d start making salmon for dinner at least once a week, I probably would not have believed you. Fast forward to today: Baked Salmon in Foil and Grilled Salmon in Foil make regular appearances in our home, especially if I’m hosting a party or want yummy, healthy leftovers. Ben loves these particular salmon dishes (and this Buffalo Baked Salmon) so much that when I told him I was going to make a new salmon recipe with an Asian spin, I thought there might be mutiny. Guess which version is his favorite now? When I’m looking to cook smaller portions of fish (this Spicy Baked Salmon, for example, is fabulous, but it yields a larger amount than I sometimes need) or if I’m craving a fresh twist, today’s Soy Ginger Salmon is my pick.

It’s filling, lively, and the chili soy garlic sauce will dance on your taste buds (just like Balsamic Glazed Salmon).You can use this recipe to cook as many or as few fillets as you like, so it’s simple to scale to suit one, two, or a few. (For another scalable salmon recipe, check out my Whole30 Salmon.)

Making Soy Ginger Salmon

The method I describe in this recipe is for a seared then baked honey ginger salmon. If you have a skillet, a stove, and an oven, you can make it!

First, the salmon is seared on one side. Make sure your pan is screamin’ hot or the salmon will stick. This creates a super satisfying crust on the outside. You’ll love sinking your fork into it! (This Pan Seared Salmon you’ll love too.)Next, you brush an easy soy ginger glaze all over the fish. It’s like a soy ginger marinade but WAY faster, because the fish doesn’t need to rest in it in advance. (For another salmon recipe with ginger flavor, try these tasty Salmon Burgers.)Last, the salmon goes into the oven to bake for a few minutes, until it’s tender and flaky.

{If you prefer a grilled soy ginger salmon, you could use the same soy ginger glaze recipe but cook the fish on the grill instead.} This Soy Ginger Salmon takes fewer than 20 minutes and tastes like it came from a restaurant (just like this Blackened Salmon). our salmon will be crisp on the outside and moist on the inside, and you’ll have only one pan to wash in the end!

Serving Soy Ginger Salmon

We garnished our Soy Ginger Salmon with spring onions and sesame seeds, but if you are particularly pressed for time or ingredients, it tastes lovely without them too.

For a complete meal, try this Soy Ginger Salmon with rice (this brown rice is my go-to) and simply steamed or sautéed veggies.I also like to make extra Soy Ginger Salmon and use the leftovers to top a salad the next day for lunch (I do the same with Teriyaki Salmon and Bourbon Glazed Salmon.)

This Soy Ginger Salmon topped the charts in our kitchen, and I hope it becomes a greatest hit for you too!

Cast-iron skillet: If you don’t own one yet, this recipe is the perfect excuse! You can use a different sturdy skillet, but cast iron really will give you the best sear.Fish spatula: I use this for EVERYTHING (veggies, pancakes, eggs), and yes, I use it for fish like this soy ginger salmon too. Soy Ginger Salmon  Fast  Healthy Asian Salmon Recipe    WellPlated com - 40Soy Ginger Salmon  Fast  Healthy Asian Salmon Recipe    WellPlated com - 44Soy Ginger Salmon  Fast  Healthy Asian Salmon Recipe    WellPlated com - 43Soy Ginger Salmon  Fast  Healthy Asian Salmon Recipe    WellPlated com - 77Soy Ginger Salmon  Fast  Healthy Asian Salmon Recipe    WellPlated com - 82Soy Ginger Salmon  Fast  Healthy Asian Salmon Recipe    WellPlated com - 45