I realize I’m likely to be condemned for high summer treason for what I’m about to suggest, but I feel it must be expressed: let’s skip the grill at our next barbecue. Before the High Court of All Barbecue strips me of my tongs and denies me access to all summer cookouts, please hear my plea. Yes, burgers are good (especially these Italian Turkey Burgers). Yes, a hot dog during June and July is a necessity. But would I choose said hotdog or burger over a crisp serving of addictive Asian Ramen Salad, fresh and fruity Red White and Blue Quinoa Fruit Salad, or Cheesy Jalapeno Cornbread? The answer is no, no I would not. Now, I am not advocating that you spend this grilling season burgerless, hot dogless, or without a grill—even my side dish-loving soul admits that this would feel unnatural and offensive. I am, however, insisting, that you take a moment to consider your spread and give attention to the salads (like this Grilled Corn Salad), the bakes (hello, Strawberry Cream Cheese Pie), and the dips (looking at you, Greek Layer Dip) that honor and celebrate the gorgeous abundance of summer produce. This pesto potato salad is the perfect place to begin.

How to Make Pesto Potato Salad

Say goodbye to goopy mayo-based potato salad and say hello to this bright, herbaceous, and zippy summer potato salad made with homemade pesto. Every spoonful of pesto potato salad makes me want to lie in the sun or stand with my bare feet in freshly cut grass. It’s a bowl full of magnificent summer, ready to be shared with the people you love most.

The Ingredients

Potatoes. For this easy pesto potato salad, I like to use baby or new potatoes. They have softer, thinner skins and lower starch content than mature potatoes. This winning combination makes them buttery and tender when cooked but also helps them hold their shape—a.k.a they’re the best potato for potato salads (like this Healthy Potato Salad)!Pesto. I blended peppery arugula, basil, parmesan, and almonds in my trusty food processor, to make an insanely easy and delicious homemade pesto (just like the one in my cookbook). Or try this Basil Pesto with pine nuts (which is divine on this Pesto Pasta).Green Beans and Peas. Incorporate even more of summer’s bounty with ample amounts of fiber, vitamin K, calcium, and plant-based protein. (Peas also star in this Pea Salad.)

The Directions

Storage Tips

To Store. Leftover pesto potato salad will keep well in the refrigerator for 1 full day and can be made a day ahead as well. By days 2 and 3, it will still be edible but will lose some vibrancy and crispness.

Dear High Court of All Barbecue: might I swap you a generous serving of pesto potato salad in exchange for a lighter sentence?

More Potluck Worthy Salad Recipes

Mediterranean Chickpea SaladCreamy Cucumber SaladChicken Caesar Pasta SaladMexican Pasta SaladBLT Pasta Salad Pesto Potato Salad  Quick and Healthy     WellPlated com - 53Pesto Potato Salad  Quick and Healthy     WellPlated com - 21Pesto Potato Salad  Quick and Healthy     WellPlated com - 36Pesto Potato Salad  Quick and Healthy     WellPlated com - 38Pesto Potato Salad  Quick and Healthy     WellPlated com - 52Pesto Potato Salad  Quick and Healthy     WellPlated com - 59Pesto Potato Salad  Quick and Healthy     WellPlated com - 39Pesto Potato Salad  Quick and Healthy     WellPlated com - 70