Made with whey protein and covered in promises to be low carb, high fiber, and delicious, these protein cookies sounded too good to be true. Upon closer inspection, I discovered that not only did most of these protein cookies contain nearly as many calories as a full meal (well beyond my needs for a cookie), they cost almost $3 each and the ingredient list left quite a bit to be desired. I couldn’t pronounce half of them. Rather than spend a small fortune, I decided to see if I could come up with my own recipe for Peanut Butter Protein Cookies that delivered the same qualities promised on the wrapper—high protein, peanut butter packed, soft, chewy, delicious—but wouldn’t blow my grocery budget or eat up my daily calorie count if I decided to have more than one. And I don’t know about you, but I usually want more than one cookie… Say hello to my healthy homemade Peanut Butter Protein Cookies! They are just 112 calories each and contain 7 grams of protein. Eat two and you are up to 14! These are also EASY protein cookies. One bowl, a spoon, and a little oomph is all you’ll need.

Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Protein Cookies—An Easy, Healthy Treat

These cookies are soft, chewy, and taste reminiscent of an old-fashioned peanut butter cookie. (These Peanut Butter Protein Bars do too!) They’re sweet enough for dessert but wholesome enough to qualify as an acceptable post-workout snack. I couldn’t choose which occasion I preferred them for more, so I opted for both.

In addition to the peanut butter and eggs, the majority of the protein in these cookies comes from the use of whey protein. I use this brand of vanilla whey protein powder.If you are in the market for a chocolate protein cookies recipe, I think these cookies would be delicious made with chocolate protein powder too.I haven’t tried a plant-based protein powder yet, but a few readers have reported that pea protein powders have yielded delicious results. If you decide to play around with the recipe and test it out, I’d love to hear how it goes!

These Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Protein Cookies are naturally gluten free, as the whey protein and coconut flour replace the wheat flour. (Coconut flour is also high protein and high fiber too; you can read all about it in this post for Coconut Flour Cookies; this is the brand I buy.) If you’ve never purchased whey protein powder and aren’t looking to (though I’d hope that any of these recipes with protein powder would convince you), you can check out my original Protein Cookies, which are made with peanut butter, quinoa, and banana. They are more reminiscent of a healthy muffin-like cookie than an ooey-gooey peanut butter cookie but are still a yummy, relatively high-protein option.

How to Store and Freeze These Cookies

To Store. Store cookies in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 days.To Freeze. You can also freeze them for up to 3 months, then thaw a few at a time. I don’t recommend microwaving the cookies, as this tends to dry them out.

Peanut Butter Banana CookiesAlmond Flour CookiesHealthy Peanut Butter Cookie Peanut Butter Protein Cookies with Whey Protein   Easy Recipe - 83Peanut Butter Protein Cookies with Whey Protein   Easy Recipe - 20Peanut Butter Protein Cookies with Whey Protein   Easy Recipe - 48Peanut Butter Protein Cookies with Whey Protein   Easy Recipe - 95Peanut Butter Protein Cookies with Whey Protein   Easy Recipe - 91