Despite my occasional fantasies about selling our house and moving into a condo, due to Ben’s greatest vice, we’ll never actually be able to leave. Ben has a serious (and thus-far incurable) book-buying addiction. While I support Ben’s love of learning and admire the fact that he wants to read a biography of Benjamin Franklin in his free time (I’ll stick to perfecting the No Knead Focaccia in mine), the idea of attempting to transport these books to a new location makes my lower back quiver in fear. Allow Ben within a square mile of Half Price Books, and he’s guaranteed to come home with an armful, which is exactly what happened a few weeks ago when we “happened upon” a Half Price Books while taking a new route home. Ben left with four books; I treated myself to one: Giada’s Family Dinners. I’ve scored some serious bargains, and my most recent purchase from Giada was no exception. It set me back $5.99 and is ripe with delicious Italian recipes. It’s also where I found the inspiration for today’s kale pasta. In the “Family Style Pasta” section, I happened upon an enticing-looking recipe for Whole Wheat Spaghetti with Swiss Chard and Pecorino, so I decided to give it a go with a few alterations.

Instead of Swiss chard, I went for some equally nutritious kale since we had a ton to use up after our weekly trip to our local farmer’s market. (This Italian Chopped Salad is another great way to use up extra kale.)I passed on the pricey pine nuts, opting for wallet-friendly walnuts.While I adore Pecorino Romano, I had a block of Parmesan I already had on hand. Last, I tend to prefer a higher veggie-to-noodle ratio in my pasta dishes (see this Eggplant Pasta) than Giada uses, so I packed in a few other veggies that were lingering in my pantry.

The resulting dish was exceptionally pleasing, yet simple (like this Pasta al Limone). Ben, who is usually a red sauce-only pasta purist (this Penne Alla Vodka with Chicken is right up his alley), quickly inhaled his first helping and went back for seconds.

How to Make Kale Pasta

Tender kale, sweet caramelized onions, salty Parm, and crunchy walnuts come together with whole wheat spaghetti and a splash of white wine for a simple, healthy pasta dinner that’s ready in under 30-minutes.

The Ingredients

Whole Wheat Spaghetti. I love how the nuttiness of the whole wheat pasta enhances the flavors of the toasty walnuts. (This Garlic Pasta is another whole wheat pasta favorite.)Kale. One of my all-time favorite nutrition powerhouses, kale is packed with vitamins A, K, B6, and C, plus calcium, potassium, copper, and manganese.Walnuts. Provide crunch and a dose of healthy fats, folic acid, vitamin B6, and vitamin E.Tomatoes. Canned diced tomatoes add moisture, flavor, and a bit of saltiness to the pasta.Onions. Once caramelized, their sweetness balances the bitterness of the kale and acidity of the tomatoes.Parmesan Cheese. has a naturally salty and nutty flavor that pairs perfectly with walnuts and kale.Garlic. An Italian pasta wouldn’t be complete with a clove (of four) of zesty garlic (ahem, Garlic Shrimp Pasta).White Wine. Helps create a light, flavorful sauce that offers subtle acidity.Red Pepper Flakes. For a little bit of heat.

The Directions

Storage Tips

To Store. Place leftover pasta in an airtight storage container in the refrigerator for up to 4 days.To Reheat. Gently rewarm pasta in a large skillet over medium-low heat until hot. You can also reheat this dish in the microwave.

Cavatelli and BroccoliAdult Mac and CheeseCrock Pot PastaMediterranean PastaInstant Pot Cauliflower Mac and CheeseAvocado Pasta Kale Pasta with Walnuts  Health   Vegetarian    WellPlated com - 2Kale Pasta with Walnuts  Health   Vegetarian    WellPlated com - 80Kale Pasta with Walnuts  Health   Vegetarian    WellPlated com - 94Kale Pasta with Walnuts  Health   Vegetarian    WellPlated com - 11Kale Pasta with Walnuts  Health   Vegetarian    WellPlated com - 34Kale Pasta with Walnuts  Health   Vegetarian    WellPlated com - 70Kale Pasta with Walnuts  Health   Vegetarian    WellPlated com - 71