I HATE wasting food.  Seriously - it’s a pet peeve of mine.  And there’s nothing sadder to me than having to throw out fresh produce.  So each week I dig out the odds and ends in my crisper that need to be used up ASAP. First things first - I make a soup.  Cannellini bean soup, to be exact.  It’s very forgiving and is a delicious lunch or dinner for the times I can’t be bothered cooking.  Next, I make vegetable stock.  Well, if we’re being technical here there’s a little more to it. I gather up any veggies I haven’t used that are about to turn and dump them in a large ziplock bag and pop it in the freezer.  I then use this bag to collect up any vegetable scraps from my cooking during the week. Then once I have a bag full of scraps / assorted vegetables I make a vegetable stock.  In a slow cooker.  Out of my kitchen scraps. YASSSSSSSS!  It can be done.  And once you try it, you’ll never want to go back to buying stock.

How to make homemade vegetable stock

STEP ONE: Get yourself a giant ziplock freezer bag and put all your vegetable scraps in it. The outside of an onion, carrot peel, celery leaves, mushrooms stalks… you see where I’m going here. Leave out seeds (like the inner part of bell peppers / capsicum) and cruciferous veggies like cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower and brussels sprout.  This will cause your stock to become very bitter.  Also leave out any mouldy / super gross vegetables. Once you have a full bag of scraps, the fun begins! STEP TWO:  Give your scraps a quick rinse in a colander to remove any dirt. STEP THREE:  Grab your slow cooker, dump the scraps in, cover with water and set on low for 12 hours. STEP FOUR:  Place a colander over a large pot, and strain and discard the vegetables. STEP FIVE:  Portion out the stock into airtight containers / mason jars.  Keep it in the fridge for one week,  or pop it in the freezer for up to three months. TIP:  You could also portion the stock into an ice cube tray to easily add as a flavour base to recipe.

RECIPE IDEAS TO USE UP YOUR STOCK:

Roasted Pumpkin Soup Cauliflower and Bacon Soup Cannellini Bean Soup Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup Moroccan Pumpkin and Chickpea Soup

MORE HOW TO POSTS

How to Make Oatmeal How to Make Balsamic Glaze How to Cook Halloumi How to Make a Perfect Smoothie How to Make Stovetop Popcorn

If you’ve tried this Homemade Vegetable Stock I’d love to hear how you went! Pop a comment and a star rating below! You can also FOLLOW ME on FACEBOOK, INSTAGRAM and PINTEREST to keep up to date with more delicious recipes.

★★ HAVE YOU MADE THIS RECIPE? PLEASE GIVE IT A STAR RATING BELOW!

How to Make Vegetable Stock with Kitchen Scraps   Cook It Real Good - 63How to Make Vegetable Stock with Kitchen Scraps   Cook It Real Good - 8How to Make Vegetable Stock with Kitchen Scraps   Cook It Real Good - 20How to Make Vegetable Stock with Kitchen Scraps   Cook It Real Good - 74How to Make Vegetable Stock with Kitchen Scraps   Cook It Real Good - 99