For those of you who, unlike myself, lack a cooler, younger sibling to keep you updated on hip acronyms, FOMO stands for “Fear of Missing Out.” At the end of every June, I feel prickles of light panic, because one third of summer has disappeared, and I fear I am behind on making the most of it. How can it possibly be the last day of June, and I have yet to bake my Grammy’s classic shortcake, toast a s’more (though these indoor s’mores bites were a delightful alternative), make these Grilled Stuffed Peppers, or go camping? Clearly, I have my work cut out for me this July and August. One area where I am pleased to have stayed FOMO-free is my consumption of fresh summer tomatoes and basil. I add a pint (or three) of cherry tomatoes to my cart every time I am in the grocery store, and I am eagerly awaiting this weekend, when I can fill my bag with local heirloom tomatoes and fresh basil at the farmers market. I’ve been keeping up with our excess supply of tomatoes (if there can be such a thing) by making large plates of Caprese salad, a simple Italian combination of fresh mozzarella, ripe tomatoes, and basil, seasoned with a bit of salt and olive oil. We munch on some form of Caprese every week, and its summery flavors inspired these grilled pesto chicken skewers.

About These Grilled Chicken Skewers

Ben and I both loved this grilled pesto chicken recipe so much, we made the skewers for dinner two nights in a row, and I happily gobbled the leftovers for lunch the next day. Honestly, I feel a little outlandish calling these grilled pesto chicken skewers a recipe, because they are so easy to make (just like these Grilled Chicken Tenders). That said, they are also so incredibly good, I couldn’t resist sharing them with you. To make grilled pesto chicken skewers, simply marinate the chicken in good-quality pesto (homemade like my creamy Basil Pesto, or store-bought), thread it onto skewers with cherry or grape tomatoes, then grill. DONE. (Use any leftover pesto to make this delicious Pesto Salmon recipe.) For the Caprese option, serve the grilled pesto chicken skewers alongside mini mozzarella balls drizzled with a little extra pesto. They’re easy, light, and I’d proudly serve this recipe at any party.

More Recipes with Caprese Inspiration

Caprese Pasta SaladBurrata PizzaCaprese Chicken PastaSlow Cooker Balsamic Chicken Caprese

Grill skewersGrill tongs

Whether you are looking for a make-ahead appetizer to add to your Fourth of July menu this weekend or a go-to summer weeknight dinner, I can’t imagine anything more fitting than these Grilled Pesto Chicken Skewers. Every bite is simple, perfect, and tastes like the summer days I wish would never end.

Grilled Pesto Chicken Skewers  Only 3 Ingredients     WellPlated com - 21Grilled Pesto Chicken Skewers  Only 3 Ingredients     WellPlated com - 84Grilled Pesto Chicken Skewers  Only 3 Ingredients     WellPlated com - 68Grilled Pesto Chicken Skewers  Only 3 Ingredients     WellPlated com - 14Grilled Pesto Chicken Skewers  Only 3 Ingredients     WellPlated com - 34Grilled Pesto Chicken Skewers  Only 3 Ingredients     WellPlated com - 38