I’ve been a bit delayed on sharing some big news – to me, anyway. It actually happened about a week and a half ago, but I was waiting for the right time to share. It seemed like my super awesome announcement had to be paired with an exceptionally awesome recipe. So, I thought the perfect time to tell you was with a staple recipe that I already use in lots of my other popular recipes. My homemade, keto low carb taco seasoning recipe! So, what’s the news? If you’re following me on Instagram, you may have heard already. (And if you aren’t, why not? I share sneak peek stuff there all the time!) The big surprise is, I left my day job to run Wholesome Yum full time!! And even though it was a hard decision – I loved my job as a senior software engineer – it was the right thing to do. I am over the moon excited to focus on Wholesome Yum! It means more time to create great recipes for you, to help you guys in our support group, and to create resources like low carb food lists, meal plans and cookbooks. And, I’m not going to lie. It also means more time with my family, my kids and my friends. Working two full-time jobs has been so taxing, and I am ready to restore some balance in life. Okay, let’s talk low carb taco seasoning mix! When it comes to seasoning mixes, many of them have ingredients that are not so great. And, they are expensive! That’s why I prefer to make my own keto taco seasoning mix. It’s actually really easy to do.

What Is Taco Seasoning?

What’s in taco seasoning? If you’re doing it right, it’s basically just a bunch of Mexican spices mixed together. Most commonly, the main spices in taco seasoning are:

Chili powder Cumin Sea salt Black pepper Paprika – smoked or regular Dried oregano – or coriander, or dried cilantro Garlic powder Onion powder Cayenne pepper

The main differences in homemade taco seasoning mix recipes are the ratios, and a few of the seasoning options. For example, some skip paprika altogether. I actually have not seen smoked paprika in a taco seasoning, but always use it in mine because I believe it tastes better. Feel free to use regular paprika if you want to. The dried oregano can be replaced with coriander or dried cilantro, if you prefer those. Finally, sea salt is optional depending on if you want a salty taco seasoning or not. I’ll explain more about that shortly. But first, can I just tell you how much I love using this keto taco seasoning in recipes? My healthy taco salad recipe is one of the most popular recipes on this low carb blog, and my all-time favorite way to use low carb taco seasoning. Of course, taco seasoning is also delicious in actual tacos. Wrap the meat along with taco fillings in some low carb coconut flour tortillas, and you’re good to go! Stay tuned for more recipes using this keto taco seasoning mix in the next few months.

Better DIY Taco Seasoning Ingredients

As you can see, low carb taco seasoning mix is just a matter of mixing spices together. Sadly, that’s not all you’ll find in store bought seasonings, but it should be. And it can be. Just make homemade taco seasoning yourself. I’ve been making my own homemade taco seasoning for a long time, but prior to that, I searched for them in stores. Unfortunately, the options I found were filled with chemicals and sugar, and the few that weren’t were expensive. I wanted an affordable recipe that I could call low carb taco seasoning. And keto taco seasoning. And gluten-free taco seasoning. And paleo taco seasoning. And even whole30 taco seasoning. So, I knew I had to make my own to accomplish all of these. To figure out what spices to include in homemade taco seasoning, I looked at the packaging of about half a dozen store bought brands. I looked for common themes and skipped the artificial ingredients, starches, fillers and preservatives. (Spices store just fine without them!) I came up with my list of DIY taco seasoning ingredients, mentioned above. Finally, I played around with ratios. Obviously, taco seasoning mix that you buy at the store isn’t going to list how much of each spice they included. I knew that chili powder was the main ingredient, and everything else was just testing. Except one thing. Salt! I knew how much I would need even before I started testing. A long time ago, I read somewhere that Julia Child recommends a teaspoon of salt per pound of meat. Her advice was not specific to gluten-free taco seasoning, or any kind of mix at all, but simply a general rule of thumb. I’ve been using this amount of salt ever since and it has yet to fail me. So, I made sure that the amount of salt in this low carb taco seasoning mix also matches Julia’s recommendation. So, I bring to you, the best taco seasoning ever. With a well-tested spice ratio and Julia Child’s recommended amount of salt, how could it not be?

How To Make Taco Seasoning for Ground Beef

Are you ready to learn how to make your own taco seasoning? There isn’t much to it. All you have to do is stir together the ingredients! Grab all your spices, stir them together in a bowl, then transfer to storage. Or, if you don’t want to dirty extra dishes, you can place the seasonings right into your storage container, cover it, and give it a good shake.

How To Store Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning

My easy taco seasoning recipe makes a large batch, because I think it’s annoying to make it every time I need it. It makes enough taco seasoning mix for 3 pounds of meat, which is usually three separate meals at our house. If you have a larger family, or if you want to make it even less often, feel free to double, triple or even quadruple this homemade taco seasoning recipe. As for how to store taco seasoning, just keep it in a cool, dry place. I’ve kept the spices used for gluten-free taco seasoning for years this way without a problem. Why would it be any different if you’re storing them combined into a mix? If you really want to, you can store your taco seasoning mix in the freezer. I don’t see much point, and you run the risk of freeze drying if there is any exposure to air. It’s up to you if you feel it’s necessary. Besides, I’m pretty sure you’re going to love this keto taco seasoning mix so much that it’s not going to last long enough to make freezing worth it. 😉 It goes so fast at our house! On the other hand, if you really want enough gluten-free taco seasoning for just one batch, change the number of servings on the recipe card from 12 to 4. That way, it will make 2 tablespoons of mix. Why 2 tablespoons? More on that in a second.

How Much Taco Seasoning Per Pound of Meat?

Okay, so you’ve made the best taco seasoning recipe ever. How to season taco meat with it? It’s really easy. And, whether you want taco seasoning for ground beef, steak, chicken, or fish, the amount to use is the same. Simply use 2 tablespoons of taco seasoning mix per pound of meat. All the premade packets recommend this, and it’s actually the same for homemade taco seasoning, too. I’ll go over how to use taco seasoning for ground beef, because this is the most common. Always start by browning the meat first. Once it’s cooked through, add 2 tablespoons of taco seasoning mix and 1/2 cup water per pound of meat. Stir well, then simmer until the water mostly evaporates. There you go – you have taco seasoned ground beef! If you are using gluten-free taco seasoning in a recipe that expects it to be without salt, or if you just want to salt to your liking, you can. It’s totally fine to omit the salt in the seasoning. If you do, reduce the seasoning amount per pound of meat from 2 tablespoons to 1 tablespoon + 2 teaspoons. That will get you the same ratio of spices. Who’s ready to make some delicious tacos?

Measuring Spoons – These measuring spoons are perfectly shaped for reaching into spice jars, which will make whipping up this low carb taco seasoning a breeze! Glass Jar with Lid – Keep you new gluten-free taco seasoning fresh by storing it in an airtight jar. These do the job nicely, and are easy to clean once you’ve used all your spice mix.

This reader favorite recipe is included in The Wholesome Yum Easy Keto Cookbook! Order your copy to get 100 easy keto recipes in a beautiful print hardcover book, including 80 exclusive recipes not found anywhere else (not even this blog!), my complete fathead dough guide, the primer for starting keto, and much more. ORDER THE EASY KETO COOKBOOK HERE Share your recipe picture by tagging @wholesomeyum and hashtag it #wholesomeyum on Instagram, or in our Facebook support group, too - I’d love to see it! Serving size: 1/2 tbsp Recipe from The Easy Keto Cookbook.