I grew up eating a lot of cucumber salads dressed in mayo or sour cream.  I love them. Mayo gives cucumber salads that velvety creaminess and a pleasant tang.

A special ingredient for the cucumber salad – chili oil

Just to make things a little more interesting, I once added a little bit of Asian hot chili oil to the mayo dressing and it literally transformed the salad. No doubt.

Have you tried spicy salmon or tuna rolls? They are made with a very similar spicy mayo. I love them. Why not make spicy chili may salad, right? You don’t need to add a lot of chili oil though, only a little bit just to barely feel the bite is enough. Of course, you can add more if you like more heat, there’s nothing wrong with that.

… and don’t forget sesame seeds

Once you add chili oil, you almost feel like you have to add sesame oil or sesame seeds. I don’t know why, but I get that feeling. Sesame oil is too overpowering for delicately flavored cucumbers. Sesame seeds are just right. They add a bit of flavor and some crunch. I like added toasted white sesame seeds mixed with the mayo dressing. On top, I sprinkled some black sesame seeds. These are less for flavor and more for visual appeal. They really transform the look of the otherwise plain-looking mayo cucumber salad.

Other ingredients

To add more color, texture and flavor to the salad, add some red onion and chopped herbs, like dill, parsley, cilantro, sage or any other greens you may like and have on hand. Radishes work well in this salad too. When making this cucumber salad, I like to slice cucumber fairly thick, about 3/8″. Very thinly sliced cucumbers just don’t have the same crunch, the same substantial texture. I think chunky cucumbers work way better in this salad. Of course, this is a matter of personal preference.

Best cucumbers to use

It goes without saying that locally grown cucumbers when they are in season make the best cucumber salad. Each summer I grow several heirloom cucumber plants in my backyard, those taste ridiculously good. So, try to make this salad in summer to really enjoy those delicious summer flavors.

To chill your cucumber salad or not

It’s customary to make cucumber salads in advance and serve them chilled. It’s not necessarily the case with this salad. I like it just as much made with freshly-picked cucumber from my garden, still warm from the hot summer sun, as I do when it’s chilled. I think it’s a personal choice. Try it made both ways and decide for yourself which one you prefer.

Storing this salad

Unlike tomato salads, cucumber salads store very well in a fridge. But don’t wait too long, this salad won’t taste as well after a day or two and the cucumbers will begin to lose their crunch and release more water. Whenever possible, make just enough to eat and make a fresh salad another day.

Chili Mayo Cucumber Salad - 35Chili Mayo Cucumber Salad - 11Chili Mayo Cucumber Salad - 44Chili Mayo Cucumber Salad - 99Chili Mayo Cucumber Salad - 91Chili Mayo Cucumber Salad - 76Chili Mayo Cucumber Salad - 56Chili Mayo Cucumber Salad - 79Chili Mayo Cucumber Salad - 94