My earliest memory of trail mix is a zip-top bag with peanuts, raisins, and chocolate chips that my aunt packed for me one day when she took me to the zoo. It was my introduction to the miracle that occurs when sweet, salty, chewy, and crunchy combine to create a perfect single fistful (and inspired my love for these Trail Mix Granola Bars). I demolished my bag at an alarming speed and have been smitten with it since. My latest trail mix fix: today’s superfood-studded roasted chickpea snack mix. This easy chickpea snack mix shares the same magical salty-sweet, chewy-crunchy qualities I remember from that day at the zoo (these Healthy Granola Bars also share that quality). It’s high in protein and fiber and packed with nutritious ingredients (like these Protein Balls), and like the snack mix my aunt so thoughtfully packed for me, it will keep you energized through any adventure.

How to Make Chickpea Snack Mix

Hanger-prone, munchie-loving individual that I am, crispy roasted chickpeas have long been one of my favorite healthy snacks (as have these Chocolate Peanut Butter Energy Balls). High in protein and fiber, chickpeas are an affordable, easy way to up the nutritional profile of almost any recipe.

The Ingredients

Chickpeas. The crispy texture and mild, nutty flavor of roasted chickpeas make them easy to adapt to a variety of spice blends and other yummy trail mix additions. (I love them just as much in this Shaved Brussels Sprouts Salad.)Maple Syrup + Spices. I opted for sweet roasted chickpeas (reminiscent of these Honey Roasted Cashews) by tossing them with cinnamon, a touch of maple syrup, salt, and smoked paprika. The cinnamon and maple give the snack mix warmth and make it feel like a treat, while the smoked paprika adds a light, intriguing background note that will keep your hand reaching back into the bowl for more.Pepitas + Almonds. For healthy fats, protein, fiber, and nutrients.Dried Cherries. For antioxidants and delicious flavor. Dried cranberries or raisins would also work here.Dark Chocolate Chips. Even more antioxidants and a trail mix necessity (chocolate is also necessary for No Bake Granola Bars IMO).

The Directions

Storage Tips

To Store. Store for up to 1 week in an airtight container at room temperature. If you use a zip-top bag, the chickpeas will soften but will still be delicious. If you’d like to keep them extra super crispy, try a parchment paper bag like these or these.To Freeze. I do not recommend freezing this recipe, as the chickpeas and nuts become soft.

Crispy, crunchy, salty, and sweet, it’s a delicious way to stay energized for any adventure.

Chickpea Snack Mix  with Healthy Roasted Chickpeas    WellPlated com - 13Chickpea Snack Mix  with Healthy Roasted Chickpeas    WellPlated com - 8Chickpea Snack Mix  with Healthy Roasted Chickpeas    WellPlated com - 61Chickpea Snack Mix  with Healthy Roasted Chickpeas    WellPlated com - 54Chickpea Snack Mix  with Healthy Roasted Chickpeas    WellPlated com - 52Chickpea Snack Mix  with Healthy Roasted Chickpeas    WellPlated com - 6Chickpea Snack Mix  with Healthy Roasted Chickpeas    WellPlated com - 9