The past few New Year’s Eves, Ben and I have gone out to a late dinner with friends, and because my hanger and I can’t handle waiting until 9 p.m. to sit down to dinner, I like to host a small group at my house beforehand for a warmup drink and snacks. On the beverage side, we keep it sparkling. A glass of the bubbly feels lighthearted and celebratory, the way New Year’s Eve should. A few of my favorite champagne cocktails: Kir Royale (two ingredients and always perfect), Apple Cider Champagne Cocktails (like an apple cider mimosa but better…and stronger), and Sparking Christmas Punch (not just for Christmas!). This year, I plan to make Kathryne’s twist on my favorite cocktail, a French 75. On the food side, I usually do a simple cheese plate, and I like to throw in a surprise bubbly treat too. Last year, it was easy Raspberry Champagne Floats. This year: soft, sticky, and oh-so-tasty Champagne Marshmallow Treats! These boozy Rice Krispie treats are a cheeky adult twist on a childhood classic. A delightful contrast of the homey and familiar with the grown up and fresh, they’re a surprising, delightful addition to any party.

Why I Love These Marshmallow Treats

A bit more on these Champagne Marshmallow Treats: they don’t taste overly boozy or overly sugary. The champagne’s flavor is subtle and offsets the marshmallow’s sweetness in a way that kept me wandering back to the pan for “just one more” bite. You also don’t need to use champagne. Any dry, sparkling wine will do nicely here, including the more budget-friendly options such as cava and prosecco. My only change to the recipe was to wait to add half of the marshmallows towards the end versus melting them all completely, because I like having sticky little bits of partly melted marshmallows scattered throughout my treats. OK FINE, I also may or may not have tossed in an extra handful of marshmallows or three. Personal preference. If you prefer a smoother treat, feel free to melt the ‘mallows completely. The treats will still be soft, sweet, and absolutely splendid. You’ll also have plenty of leftover champagne in the bottle after you make them, for which I trust you can find a good use (if not, CALL ME. I’ll help). If you’d like to make this Champagne Marshmallow Treats recipe but don’t want to purchase an entire bottle of champagne, you can also purchase a small individual-size bottle or even canned sparkling wine. I’m seeing these single-servings at all sorts of liquor stores, the grocery store, and even Target.

These playful treats come from my friend Lauren’s cookbook, Modern Comfort Cooking. Throughout the book, Lauren takes classic dishes and makes them feel new again. I have the pleasure of knowing Lauren both as a fellow blogger and as a friend. She’s energetic, imaginative, and constantly draws inspiration from her extensive travels both at home and abroad. Her sense of humor comes across with every recipe, and many of the recipes connect to a specific memory too. From Falafel Waffles to Chai French Toast Sticks to Indian Chicken Pot Pies, her recipes fuse the cozy with the creative.

How to Store Champagne Marshmallow Treats

To Store. These are best the day they are made, but you can store them in a tightly sealed ziptop bag (press out as much air as possible) or wrapped in plastic and kept in the refrigerator for 2 to 3 days. They will continue to be safe to eat later on but will have a more crisp texture.

More Delicious Sweet Treats

Healthy Rice Krispie Treats Pecan Pie Bars Best Lemon Bars Check out my 50 Healthy Desserts for even more ideas!

  HAPPY 2018! For more creative twists on classic recipes, like these Champagne Marshmallow Treats, be sure to check out Lauren’s book, Modern Comfort Cooking.

Champagne Marshmallow Treats Recipe - 57Champagne Marshmallow Treats Recipe - 87Champagne Marshmallow Treats Recipe - 47Champagne Marshmallow Treats Recipe - 91Champagne Marshmallow Treats Recipe - 78Champagne Marshmallow Treats Recipe - 43Champagne Marshmallow Treats Recipe - 9