One common request I hear a lot in the low carb community is keto low carb bread recipes. Trust me, I get it! Sometimes you just want some sliced bread for a simple sandwich. Or some low carb garlic bread. My usual go-to’s are low carb bread with almond flour or keto low carb fathead bagels, but I’ve been looking for something a little lighter. That’s where this cauliflower bread recipe comes in. Can you believe that this cauliflower bread with garlic and herbs has only 108 calories and 3g net carbs per slice? Yep, it’s true. I don’t count calories, but I do like to have light options available. This keto cloud bread is another great lighter choice for low carb bread. Cauliflower tortillas and cauliflower bread sticks are pretty common, so why not simple cauliflower bread, right? Cauliflower is such a useful stand-in for starches in foods, I can’t believe I didn’t think of this sooner. It’s a great way to make your low carb bread on the lighter side – not only in terms of carbs, but calories too.

Even though the slices aren’t very big, they are still big enough for a nice sandwich. You can multiply the recipe by 1.5, or even double it, if you prefer larger slices. You can also slice the bread thinner, if desired, to reduce the carbs more. One of my favorite ways to use cauliflower bread is for grilled cheese. The flavors work so well together! The best part is, frying it a little creates a delicious crusty exterior. That’s just one idea. You really can eat this bread in mostly the same ways you’d eat any other loaf of bread. Just look at those slices. Am I the only one that wants to make a huge BLT sandwich with them, like right now?

If it’s not obvious yet, my original intent for a cauliflower bread loaf was a lighter, low carb sandwich bread. It works well for that purpose, though it’s a little more dry and dense than some other low carb bread recipes. It tastes best with a spread, or condiments on your sandwich. When I noticed this, it occurred to me a slightly drier cauliflower bread makes a great candidate for low carb garlic bread! And, since a low carb garlic bread recipe was on my list to make anyway, I was happy to combine the two.

I immediately topped some slices with butter, garlic, and parsley, along with a sprinkle of sea salt. Just 10 minutes in a hot oven, and viola! Cauliflower bread turned into low carb garlic bread! Who knew?!

Share your recipe picture by tagging @wholesomeyum and hashtag it #wholesomeyum on Instagram, or in our Facebook support group, too - I’d love to see it! Serving size: 1 1/2"-thick slice