Caldo Verde is a Portuguese soup made with potatoes, collard greens, sliced chouriço or linguiça (smoked Portuguese sausage) and olive oil. It originated in northern Portugal, but nowadays it is a national favorite. Some people even say it’s the national dish but I disagree! (Hello? Bacalhau?!?) It is also so popular in Brazil that most Brazilians don’t even know that it is originally a Portuguese soup.  This soup is great served as an appetizer or as a light course for a late supper, for example. I find it to be very satisfying, because of the sausage and potatoes, so I’m usually good with a bowl of this soup and a slice of bread for dinner! Maybe accompanied by some Rosemary Focaccia? Yum!

  Wanna keep in touch? Follow me on Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter and Facebook to stay up to date with all my posts! :) I appreciate the support!

Caldo Verde  Portuguese Green Soup  - 67Caldo Verde  Portuguese Green Soup  - 96Caldo Verde  Portuguese Green Soup  - 97Caldo Verde  Portuguese Green Soup  - 5Caldo Verde  Portuguese Green Soup  - 1Caldo Verde  Portuguese Green Soup  - 82