Back when we first met, my husband asked me what my favorite restaurant was. I was still in college, so I certainly couldn’t afford to go out anywhere nice, and growing up my parents never went out either, so I didn’t have many options to choose from. My diet at the time was far from healthy, and definitely not gluten-free or low carb. I told him Olive Garden was my favorite. Needless to say, today’s low carb chicken marsala recipe is not what I had in mind at the time. Nonetheless, it was still inspired by that restaurant.

Even though Olive Garden isn’t my absolute number one choice anymore, there’s one dish on the menu that reminds me why I picked it as a favorite years ago. Chicken Marsala. I certainly loved my share of pastas and chicken parmesan back then, but chicken marsala was definitely a favorite. And, it’s still yummy enough for me to order it without hesitating on the rare occasion that I do end up there. Besides, it doesn’t hurt that it conjures up memories of some of the early dates my husband and I had. I may not have been much of a cook in my college years, but now I actually like making my own low carb Chicken Marsala. It’s a perfect dish for date night at home – super easy to make, yet looks impressive. The chicken comes out juicy and tender, while the classic Marsala wine sauce makes it more than “just chicken”. If you’re on the fence about trying it, I think you’ll like that my gluten-free and low carb Chicken Marsala recipe has only six ingredients.

Nowadays, I do like to go out to a nicer restaurant occasionally. Needless to say, Olive Garden is far from the top of my list when choosing a place to go. But most of the time, I’m perfectly happy preparing a meal at home, so that I can make things exactly how I like them and not wonder about the ingredients. See, I’m still a cheap date. And so is this delicious low carb Chicken Marsala – in a good way.

Saucepan – This set of saucepans are the ones that I love to use in my kitchen. Whisk – This whisk would be perfect for this low carb recipe. I like that it has a handle with a comfortable grip.

  Share your recipe picture by tagging @wholesomeyum and hashtag it #wholesomeyum on Instagram, or in our Facebook support group, too - I’d love to see it! Serving size: 1 chicken breast with sauce and mushrooms